Jan. 16 TCC Destination Zoom: ‘A Hippie Trail Retrospective’

Please join us for this special TCC Destination Zoom Meeting on Saturday, Jan. 16:

  • 7:00 PM “London Time” 19:00 GMT
  • 2:00 PM Eastern Time (US & Canada)
  • 1:00 PM Central Time
  • 12:00 PM Mountain Time
  • 11:00 AM Pacific Time

For login information, please contact St. Louis TCC Coordinator Charles Merkel at tccstl@yahoo.com, telephone (314) 644-7797.

Our Program

“A Hippie Trail Retrospective”
This retrospective will tell of a bygone era when tens of thousands of young people took off from Europe to travel across Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, and Pakistan in order to reach India and Nepal. It will recall a time when travel was without ATM’s, mobile phones, or Internet. A time when communication with friends and family was by letter, money was carried in cash and traveler’s checks and changed into local currency as required. They were young naive and living a dream.

Special Guest Sharif Gemie

Sharif worked in five British universities from 1985 to 2017. During that period, he published eight books and countless academic articles.

His last book, co-authored with Brian Ireland, was The Hippie Trail: A History. While this was a new topic for both authors, it built on some of Sharif’s existing research interests: minority groups and peoples caught between cultures.

Since retiring, Sharif has turned to fiction, and is currently writing a novel about UN aid-workers in Germany 1945-’46.

 

Sharif Gemie talks about his book The Hippie Trail – A History:

Travelers’ Century Club®
8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd., Suite 102
Los Angeles, CA 90045
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 2297
Cupertino, CA 95015
Tel: (888) 822-0228
Email: info@travelerscenturyclub.org

TCC Forum is a private social networking site for members only. Registration is required. More info here »